Embracing Beauty

Up until I was about 13 years old, I was completely disinterested in my body image or self esteem. I was a carefree, fun-loving, and happy-go-lucky little girl, and then the teenage years began. Turning thirteen meant a plethora of possibilities: high school, drama, and yes, body image. I have always admired women (and men) who embrace their natural beauty and aren’t afraid to be themselves. Becoming a teenager was definitely not easy, especially because I suddenly felt all this pressure to “find myself” and figure out what my interest were. When I decided to ride on the waves of life, instead of just standing knee-deep waiting for waves to crash into me, I felt like an entirely different person. I spent more time thinking about becoming a better person instead of letting negative experiences in the past affect who I had become. Instead of jumping on the makeup bandwagon and caking on layers of unnecessary amounts of makeup like many teenage girls I know, I decided to just embrace my natural beauty. I am a firm believer in the phrase “less is always more,” so why should makeup be an exception. It was extremely difficult for me to see past the flaws that I had, both internally and externally, but I’m so glad I did.

On that note, I have been discovering more ways to apply a “less is more” approach to my morning routine. Don’t get me wrong, I am a true lover of liquid foundation, I just have decided to use less of it. I typically opt for a nude/light pink lip, a little bit of blush, and maybe a dab of mascara. This beauty routine is so simple, yet it leaves me with a look that is easy to maintain and retouch throughout the day. When I’m feeling a little bit more bold, a red lip is always striking, but if I make one bold makeup move, I try to keep everything else very simple. Plus, if you keep your makeup routine simple, then you have more time to do other, more important things. In my case, perhaps an hour extra of sleep? 😉

Do you tend to go for a more bold makeup routine, or do you prefer a simple look? Let me know!

b17b96f777ffa85e5af77eb42f301d4a

Leave a Reply

