Relieving Holiday Stress

3f36fd0ba2635b925d6e45f16e75c352

This time of year is always stressful for me. On top of preparing for my family’s annual vacation, staying on top of school work, and preparing for finals, I tend to get a little anxious. The holidays should be enjoyable, but with the added pressure of holiday shopping and end-of-the-year preparations, this season can be particularly stress-inducing. I’m sharing three of my favorite tips for relieving stress during the holidays below:

1. Exercise for at least 30 minutes a day. My preferred workouts are yoga and dance, but even just heading to the gym for 30 minutes is better than nothing. I recommend working out sometime during the day to help break up a busy schedule.

2. Make lists. When making a list, it’s important to include relaxing activities, such as taking a shower, walking your dog, or reading a book. By incorporating more pleasureful things into your daily schedule, chores won’t be as difficult to get done.

3. Meditate. I’m trying to get in the habit of mediating for 10 minutes every day: 5 minutes after I wake up and 5 minutes before I go to bed. Meditation allows your mind and body to calm down  while also helping you to breathe more deeply and fully. When meditating, you’ll feel more peaceful, present, and centered. What’s not to like?!

Leave a Reply

