Let Yourself Rest

tumblr_nlgshw6arz1rzs2lno1_250

Today is the last day of my spring break, and the last “real break” until I graduate high school (!!!). My spring break was a little more relaxed than I had planned, which was both good and bad. I had quite a bit of time on my hands, which I utilized as a time to catch up on certain things. I regretted not having more structure in my break, in terms of planning more activities with my friends or taking a day trip somewhere, but ultimately, I’m glad I didn’t.

For the past few years, my spring break has been jam-packed with college visits, school activities, and homework. I’ve always been able to find a balance between my academics and social life, so I typically schedule a few lunches with friends while also squeezing in time to go to my local coffee shop to study. This spring break was completely different because I already knew where I had been admitted to college (and where I’ll be going!), and also because most of my friends were busy with other activities. Although I wanted to exercise every day, eat healthily, and go to bed at a reasonable hour every night, it just wasn’t realistic for me. I read a ton, which was amazing, and indulged in some Easter candy and television marathons. There were multiple times over break where I knew I should have been more productive, but it was great to finally rest. 

Although I can’t say I went on an exotic vacation or worked out for multiple hours every day, I actually relaxed for once in my life. I can’t stress the importance of giving yourself a break enough. It’s called “spring break” for a reason, friends. Let. Yourself. Rest. 

Have a lovely week!

Leave a Reply

