Currently on My Bookshelf

Kruq2oT

* Image via Reddit

I’ve had a lot of time on my hands over the past few weeks, especially since returning home from Europe. I had a list of about 10 novels I’ve always wanted to read and have been slowly checking them off my list.

I recently read I Am Malala, which is written by Peace Prize winner and girl’s education advocate Malala Yousafzai. This novel is gripping and powerful, but also very difficult to get through. I would carve out a lot of time for this book because there were many instances when I had to go back and re-read sentences, asking myself “how can something this horrible happen in the 21st century?”

I also just finished The Opposite of Loneliness, which was wonderfully written. The novel consists of essays and short stories written by Marina Keegan, a Yale graduate who died in a tragic car accident just days after her college graduation. Marina received international acclaim for her essay “The Opposite of Loneliness”, which was published by the Yale Daily News. Marina’s stories are witty, honest, and relatable; I encouraged my mom to read this book after I finished it and we haven’t been able to stop talking about it since.

Do you have any books on your to-read list this summer? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

