I’m Back + Tips for College

1de2ebe1d9fdc220e6f699406f7b576c

* Image via Honestly WTF 

Sorry for the radio silence over the past few weeks! Within the last two weeks, I visited my grandmother on the East Coast and moved in to my dorm for summer classes at the university I will be attending in the fall. After a long week of orientation, I’m excited to have a relaxing weekend and get back to my happy place: this blog! Today I want to talk a little about adjusting to college. Although I’ve only been at my college for one week now, I’ve noticed a significant difference in how people conduct themselves here compared to my peers in high school. In college, there are no boundaries whatsoever. Nothing is off-limits, which leads people to make hasty and dangerous decisions.

I’m not a typical teenager in the least. I prefer watching movies in my pajamas to a night on the town. I like to read before I go to bed instead of partying all night. I go to early yoga classes every Sunday morning instead of laying in bed with a major hangover. I’m different, which is something I wholeheartedly accept about myself.

Peer pressure comes out very early on in college. It doesn’t matter if someone’s forcing you to drink or to take a certain class or to hang out with a specific group of people – it’s still peer pressure. For anyone who is currently attending college or is just at the beginning of their college experience, learn your limits. I understand that it’s a lot easier said than done, but still, keep that in mind. For so many people I know, one mistake has led down a spiraling pathway of disaster.

Have a wonderful and safe weekend!

Leave a Reply

