Staying True to You

e03878ec91961e196c9b36d5f40c64ff

*via

I just began the winter quarter of my freshman year of college. Although I’m excited to start new classes and activities, I’ve been plagued by the flu over the past few days. Being cooped up inside my room for most the day has me thinking a lot about my resolutions for the new year. I know I shared a few of these resolutions in a previous post, but I want to expand on one in particular: staying true to myself.

College is a big and scary world that can be such a difficult transition. Although I’ve been having an amazing freshman year so far, I can’t deny that I’ve also struggled quite a bit. I’ve had to work harder than ever before to keep up in classes, to make new friends, and to adjust to living on my own. Staying true to myself in the midst of all of this has proven to be the ultimate challenge. Like most people, I want others to like me. But I’m afraid that I’ve changed myself to fit others’ expectations.

With that being said, I want to continue to explore all aspects of myself without losing sight of who I am. This is a lot easier said than done but I have hope that this will be the year of growth and possibility.

Cheers to that and an amazing 2016!

Leave a Reply

