Diary of College Student

f6e3504e6b7af51c319b2bf4e85b5aa1

*via

I’ve been meaning to write a post like this for a long time but I’ve struggled to find the words to accurately describe what I’m trying to say.

First off, for those that are new to my blog, you might not know that I’m a freshman in college. I go to a large public school that is equally overwhelming and amazing. I love my classes, friends, and activities at this school, but I’ve also had my fair share of challenges. For starters, I don’t drink alcohol, which is a decision that I made in high school. I don’t mind if my friends drink, but I do mind when someone is so impaired that they lose complete control over their actions. Quite honestly, this happens more often than not in college. I’ve witnessed firsthand the horrifying effects of alcohol, especially in a setting where there is so much vulnerability and so little responsibility.

In my perspective, there is so much more to college, and life in general, than alcohol. Instead of going out on a Saturday night, you could have a nice dinner with friends and create genuine friendships that you’ll actually remember the next day. Or in my case, grab a friend, watch a movie, and get take-out.

My goal in writing this post was not to place blame on those that drink alcohol, but to instead share my views with those who may have a similar mentality when it comes to alcohol. I know that it can be especially difficult in college to admit that you don’t drink; I myself have received quite a bit of criticism and judgement for choosing to not drink.

But at the end of the day, I’m in charge of my own life, and that’s a very wonderful thing.

That’s my two cents for the day. Have a lovely rest of your week. 🙂 

Leave a Reply

