You Do You

IMG_5513.JPG

Although this week has just been flying by, I’m still sad that my weekend had to come to a close. I had an amazing Valentine’s Day weekend spent with some of my very favorite people. I had ramen with friends in Japantown, enjoyed a tasty brunch in a new-to-me spot in LA, explored the Getty Museum, and visited some of my high school bestie at USC. Phew. If you ask me, the best thing about living in LA is that you never run out of things to do.

On another note, I want to spend today’s post talking about confidence. I spent Sunday afternoon at the Getty with a  friend, and in addition to walking around the beautiful exhibits, we had a mini photo shoot on the terrace of the museum. The sun was shining and the light was absolutely perfect for photos, so we decided to give it a go and we both loved how the photos turned out.

Although I’m not camera shy, I’ve recently found myself lacking in confidence when it comes to photos. I had braces for the first few years of high school, so I was always embarrassed to smile with my teeth. When I got my braces off, I was way more willing to smile with my teeth, but I began focusing on my other imperfections, such as a blemish on my face or my small eyes. My self-consciousness derives mostly from our modern culture.  This is the generation of highly-edited photos on social media. I find myself constantly comparing myself to other girls who post gorgeous photos of themselves. Meanwhile, I’m sitting in my room with no makeup and a baggy sweatshirt on.

So, what I’m trying to say is that confidence is not easy. I’ve always struggled to accept my appearance, especially when I live in a culture that places such a large emphasis on physical beauty. But I’m trying harder because confidence is a very beautiful thing.

Have a lovely rest of your week. 🙂 

 

Leave a Reply

