Five Things I Learned as a Freshman

I’m already into the fifth week of my sophomore year and boy is it going by fast! I’ve had a great year so far, but there have been a few not-so-great things that have happened as well (i.e. dropping a class super last minute, late-night meetings, and broken appliances in my dorm). Nonetheless, this year has been good to me so far and I have so many fun things to look forward to. I can say with confidence that my sophomore year of college has been shaping up to be a lot better of a year than my freshman year. So, without further ado, here are five things I wish I knew during my freshman year of college.

img_5639

1) You don’t have to be everyone’s best friend: I wish I had learned this way earlier in my life. As a freshman, I was terrified that I wasn’t going to make any friends, especially because I go to such a large school where you sometimes feel lost in the mix. I made some really good friends, some pretty good friends, and some not so great friends during my freshman year. This year I hope to continue to make lasting friendships that are positive, uplifting, and joyful.

img_5472

2) Your family is your #1 fan: I wasn’t expecting to be incredibly homesick during my freshman year but there were a few instances where I felt pangs of intense homesickness. I talk to my parents almost every day on the phone and this has really helped to ease the homesickness over the last few months. My mom is also really great at looking at the big picture, which is especially helpful when I freak out about a test score or drama between friends.

3) Find your study space as soon as possible: I’m not a big fan of the library so it was super important for me to find a quiet study space where I knew I would be able to get a ton of work done. For me this is either my dorm room or a quaint coffee shop with no too much noise. I always feel an extra incentive to study knowing that my homework  can be accompanied by a warm latte.

img_5536

4) Be vulnerable: I don’t have to tell many people that college is hard because everyone already knows. College is not only academically challenging but also emotionally, physically, and socially draining as well. Being vulnerable means being open to new possibilities. I was hesitant to hang out with people I wasn’t super close with or to go to an event where I didn’t know most of the people who were going during my freshman year. This year I’m more determined to say ‘yes’ to things that will bring me joy, even if these events make me a little uncomfortable at first.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

5) College doesn’t have to be perfect to be wonderful: You’re not always to get the best grade in the class, or go to every social event, or look cute every day of the week. I tried so hard to impress everyone my freshman year so that my insecurities didn’t shine through. My goal this year is to let my insecurities go and to be confident with where I am, who I am, and where I’m going. College is not perfect and neither are you. And one bad grade may even motivate you to do better the next time. People, please embrace the imperfections. They may you you. 🙂

Are there any tidbits of advice you wish you had received during your freshman year of college? Please share!

xoxo,

Catherine

Leave a Reply

