More Kindess

6d21125ba6a6f85367915a08442f097e

*via

If I’m being honest, this quarter of college has been a tough one. I’ve dealt with a variety of emotions over the past few weeks – rejection, failure, excitement, joy, anxiety, etc. I am blessed to have an amazing support group but it is so easy to feel stuck sometimes. And that’s exactly how I’ve felt for the past few months.

I try not to bring up personal topics on my blog that much but I feel like it’s actually something I should do more of. Although there are certain things that I like to keep to myself, there are also topics that need to be discussed in a public space, like the topic of kindness.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been having a horrible day that seems to get progressively worse. This happened the other day when I had a really hard exam in the morning, and then slipped on the stairs, and then later got a horrible headache the second I was able to relax in my room. You’ll hear it again and again but the little things really do add up. After the longest day on Friday, a friend delivered a Sprinkles cupcake to my dorm and it really brightened my mood. Another small act of kindness was when I had a million things in my arms and the person in the doorway in front of me held the door open until I was able to get through. We need more of this. 

So, the point I’m trying to make is that we need a lot more kindness in this world. I know that this time of year we are given the opportunity to express gratitude very freely, but kindness doesn’t need to be limited to just the holiday season.

And now I want to leave you with one of my favorite quotes:

“People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” – Maya Angelou 

Leave a Reply

