Things I Learned In 2016

Hi friends! Can you believe New Year’s Eve is tomorrow? This year flew by so quickly. 2016 wasn’t the best year for me but I still managed to have some amazing memories to take away from this crazy year. Now that 2017 is almost upon us I thought that I would take some time to reflect on this past year and what I learned. This may come as a surprise, but I never set New Year’s resolutions for myself. In my opinion, change shouldn’t happen only when a new year is about to begin, but should instead happen when it is necessary. In spite of not setting goals or resolutions each new year, there are definitely tidbits here and there that I have learned not only about myself but also about how to live. Read below for all the deets!

picmonkey-image

  1. Relationships are worth every bit of effort you put into them. I cherish each and every person who has made its way into my life and know that good relationships take a lot of work.
  2. There will always be a light at the end of the tunnel. No matter how bad the situation is, things will always have a way of working themselves out. Promise.
  3. Happiness is always a choice. As difficult as it is to have a positive attitude 24/7, it really can influence the way you perceive yourself and others.
  4. If you have absolutely nothing nice to say, just don’t say it. I’ve had my fair share of dramatic middle school friendships and crazy drama to know that if you don’t have anything nice to say, just keep it to yourself. This world does not need any more negativity.
  5. Dogs can make everything and anything better. This is tried and true. 🙂
  6. Everything in moderation. If you need to have a chocolate sundae and a kale smoothie in the same day, just do it. If you love someone fiercely, it’s important to also have space from them every now and then.
  7. Exercise is the best therapy. There have been so many times this year when I’ve just wanted to sit and curl up on my bed and watch Netflix when my life felt like it was in the dumps. Although this is sometimes the best option, getting a workout in or going to a fun exercise class almost always makes me feel way better than just sitting around and feeling bad for myself.
  8. Believe in love. I was never in a relationship until I came to college over a year and a half ago. Because I went so long without someone that I really “click with”, I was sure that I was going to be alone forever. So stupid, I know. Putting yourself out there and having the courage to be your true, raw and beautiful self is the only way you’re going to attract someone who shares your same values. Trust me, it works. 🙂

What did you learn in 2016 that you feel has impacted your life in some way?

 

Leave a Reply

