Letting It All Go

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

*From a few days ago in Malibu, CA

The last few weeks have been some of the busiest weeks of my life, from school, to interviews for internships, sorority events, and getting together with friends. I love being busy, but I don’t like not having enough time to do the things that actually bring me joy, like exercising a few times a week or scheduling fun activities for the weekend. This quarter of college has been my busiest yet, mostly because I’m taking more classes than usual and am also involved in lots of extracurricular activities. I chatted with my mom over phone the other day and  talked about why people feel the need to do absolutely everything. I told her that I was starting to feel the pressure of needing to be a great student, a devoted member of my sorority, and still have time for the things that I love. It’s been said many times before, but I needed to make it clear to myself that saying no is ok. 

I have the tendency to stretch myself thin. For freshman and sophomore year of high school, I thought the only way I was going to get into a good college was if I was involved in everything that high school had to offer. By junior year, I was starting to hone in on my interests and I began to figure of what activities I liked best. Fast forward to college, where there are 1,000+ clubs just on our campus alone. Even halfway through my sophomore year, I have barely touched the surface in terms of what my university has to offer. In fact, just thinking about all of the different clubs I could get involved in makes my head spin.

I’ve always considered myself to be an optimistic person, but my lust for life has begun to fade over the past few months. I’ve not only felt unmotivated to do schoolwork, but I also feel like I’m in a creative rut where I can’t generate any new ideas for my blog. Does anyone else feel this way too? One of my friends even pointed out to me recently that I don’t have the same enthusiasm and optimism that I did just a few months prior.

My mission is to find this lust again, and infuse it into all aspects of my life.

Friends, life is too short for sleepless nights and anxiety that lasts days on end. I’ve seen the phrase good things come to those who hustle but I don’t believe a bit of that. Good things come to those who do their best. Nothing more nothing less.

How do you let things go? A coffee break, a walk on the beach, time with a furry friend? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

