Currently Craving: Acai Bowls

I have to make an honest confession – I had never tried an acai bowl until a month ago. I know, I know, I live in Los Angeles – how in the heck have I not tried an acai bowl before?! I don’t have a great excuse, I just never jumped onto the acai bandwagon. Buuuuuut, let me tell you friends, I am a big believer that acai bowls might be one of the greatest inventions of our time.

To begin with, let me start off by saying that within the past few months I’ve been trying incredibly hard to change up my diet. When I discovered early into 2016 that dairy did not sit well with me, I cut it out of my diet. Now that we’re a few weeks into 2017, I can honestly say that I’ve done a great job with keeping up the no-dairy routine. I’m trying to also eliminate gluten, but that’s another story for another time.

Anyway, long story short, I have a super sensitive stomach and can’t always digest three full meals a day. Sometime I like to switch things up and substitute in a smoothie for lunch or breakfast instead of a complete meal. I’m not saying that this works for everyone, but this tends to help me, especially with my digestion issues. This is where acai bowls come in. I never really knew what made up an acai bowl until I tried my first one a few weeks ago. For reference, I ordered the Brazilian Bowl (the “beginnners” acai bowl) at SunLife Organics and absolutely loved it. Half of the bowl was smoothie, so it was a nice mix of liquid and hard foods. Because I don’t have access to a kitchen in the university dorms right now, I know for sure that I’ll be whipping up acai bowls weekly in my sorority house next year. I complied a list of delicious-looking acai bowls below, so be sure to check them out!

1. Acai Breakfast Power Bowl 

c215d99701221c6cbcd2ecabb4d5cfa9

2. Blueberry and pink grapefruit oatmeal 

8a028c3c7f81475147f11ffda8cf7dd3

3. Tropical Smoothie Bowls

ab3beb61ff2c2be5acdbd1824f39c45c

4. Crispy Blue Brekky Bowl

fbe7d9bd84d1934258ca644414b9bd6f

5. Dragon Fruit Smoothie Bowl

ddf0bd82f22b9060f3b08f565d17124a

Have you tried any other food “trends” lately that you want to share? Let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

