My Best Friend Came to Visit!

I’m writing this blog post while lounging in my room in my robe and p.j.’s,  listening to John Mayer, and winding down after a super fun and fulfilling day…does it get much better? I don’t think so! I wanted to share some photos from this past weekend when one of my best friends from high school came to visit. It’s always such a treat to have friends from home come to Los Angeles to spend time with me, especially during the summer months when I have a little bit more time on my hands. My bestie, Tenny, has only been to L.A. a handful of times so we wanted to make our short time together as memorable as possible. In less than 24 hours we had two amazing meals, walked all around Beverly Hills, and even attended a party at my college. There was no shortage of fun that weekend! Also –  keep your eyes peeled for a new series on my blog or even a new blog (!) that me and Tenny collaborate on about our experiences with attending college in two different cities.

On Saturday afternoon around 1 or 2 p.m., Tenny arrived at my dorm. She unpacked her stuff and tidied up before we headed out for the day. The two of us then took an uber to Rodeo Drive and spent the next few hours just walking up and down the street and popping into stores every so often. It was so fun to be a tourist in my own town! Tenny and I are both fashion lovers so we had a great time seeing all of the designer stores and window shopping. That particular day was a scorcher in L.A. so me and Tenny decided to take a little pit stop to grab some iced coffee and an espresso at a small cafe on Rodeo. We ended up finding 208 RODEO, which had amazing looking food as well as drinks! The people watching was also great.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

After chatting for about an hour, we walked a little bit further around Rodeo and in the surrounding area. Along the way to the cafe, Tenny and I came across an amazing art gallery that was filled to the brim with so many famous artists. My art history-loving heart was oh-so-happy. All of the walking helped me work up quite an appetite so we meandered over to a restaurant that had been on my radar – Il Pastaio. The food and the atmosphere brought me right back to my time in Tuscany a few summers ago. Tenny and I split the calamari and I had the basil and tomato spaghetti. It was insanely good!

With our bellies full, we still found a way to make room for gelato, which we found at a darling little cafe named Amorino. Although the rose design of the gelato was pretty impressive, I thought the gelato was a little overrated. Maybe it’s because the gelato in Italy is just on another level!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

After gelato we took an uber back to my dorm and relaxed for the next few hours with Gossip Girl and a little dance party. We somehow garnered the motivation to go to a party that some friends were hosting that night, which ended up being super fun!

The next morning we slept in and then made our way to the darling Cafe Chez Marie, located in Westwood. The cafe was almost completely empty when we got there, which was so nice because we had the entire back patio to ourselves! I ordered the classic scramble with toast and potatoes and it was so good. I would definitely recommend this little cafe for a filling and super pleasant brunch.

NJZA2220

CFFM9505

All in all, I had the most amazing weekend with my bestie in La La Land! We’re already planning our next girl’s weekend – have any recommendations?

Leave a Reply

